Introduction to Art & design

Hi guys!

So as this is the first post for the Art & Design section, I thought I’d tell you what the A-Level Art course entails.

The course is made up of three projects:

  • Project 1 – September to February – for this first project, you are asked to respond to a ‘theme word’ by carrying out research in school and at home, and to develop and produce a piece of work in a choice of media
  • Project 2 – March to January – this is your biggest project and it is entirely up to you what you choose to base it on. For the first 6-8 weeks, you carry out research on your chosen theme in your sketchbooks, and from then on and over the summer, you focus on your essay, which is made up of a minimum of 1000 words and 8-12 artist copies that link to your project theme (this gives you a better understanding of the topic and will gain you new skills that are influenced by other artists
  • Project 3 – February to May – this final project is your exam. You will be issued with another ‘theme word’ by the exam board, to produce research and a final outcome for, however, this time when you produce your outcome, it will be under exam conditions and you will given a time limit of 15 hours

So that’s the breakdown of the course, and so far my class has just finished Project 1 and we are about to move on to Project 2.

As you can see by the picture, our first project went really well, we all pushed ourselves to experiment with new techniques, which actually was quite difficult for us as we all tend to be perfectionists!

My piece is the horse with the map on the front, the one that isn’t finished yet (whoops), and the image doesn’t show it, but when it’s closed it measures to be over 1 metre squared, and double that when it is open (so I guess I’m saying that that’s my excuse for not having finished it yet!). My chosen personal theme was greek mythology, and i wanted to focus on the story of Odysseus and the Trojan Horse, so the front shows the outline of the city of Troy, and the inside shows the horse as the main feature, where the top half looks like a real horse, and the bottom will be wood grain (like the horse in the story).

Even though we are moving on to our second project now, I am still going to continue to work on my piece until it is finished. I would also like to develop it further so that it has some small soldier figures in battle around the horse to show the war between the Greeks and the Trojans.

So far, I am really enjoying this course, and also sixth form life in general, it has been my best year at Abbeyfield so far, and hope it will be the same for you.

Well that’s it from me for this first post, I hope you enjoyed reading and feel like you know a little more about the course, but don’t worry there’s lots more to come!

Author: Jaz West

Hi, I’m Jaz! I am currently studying Art, Graphics and Maths at A-Level, all of which I am really enjoying. As you can probably tell by my choice of subjects, I am a very creative person, and I am here to help you find out more about Art. I will be explaining to you what Art at A-Level actually entails, and will give you updates on the fun things that we do in our lessons as the year progresses. I hope that my entries on this blog will show you that a Fine Art course isn’t just about painting still lifes and portraits, but that it’s a brilliant opportunity to try out new and exciting things, experimenting with different media, and gaining new skills that you will carry with you all the way to university. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

